Skip to content

Robyn Renee Essex v. Kris W. Kobach, Kansas Secretary of State (Civil Action No. 12-4046-KHV-MBB-JWL) (Redistricting Case)

Judge Info

Senior Judge John W. Lungstrum
United States District Court, District of Kansas

Chief Judge Mary Beck Briscoe
United States Court of Appeals, 10th Circuit

Senior Judge Kathryn H. Vratil
United States District Court, District of Kansas

Case Summary

Plaintiff brings an action asking a three-judge panel to declare as unconstitutional the current apportionment for congressional, state senate, state representative and Kansas board of education seats because they do not reflect the demographic shifts that are documented by the 2010 decennial census.  The Kansas legislature failed to reach agreement on boundaries for new districts.  Defendant agrees that continued use of the existing maps is unconstitutional and asks the court to draw the reapportionment maps.  Several parties have intervened in the case to address the constitutionality and fairness of one or more sets of maps.  Because of upcoming election deadlines, this case is proceeding on a very fast timetable.

The 5/29 hearing was recorded pursuant to the Cameras in Courts pilot project. The video is divided into 5 parts and is viewable here.

The exhibits used at the 5/29 hearing are posted at http://www.sos.ks.gov/elections/redistricting/Exhibits/.

Links

Contact Information

Plaintiffs' Counsel
Brent E. Haden

Haden & Byrne LLC
717 Cherry Street, Suite B
Columbia, MO 65201

573-442-3535
brent@showmelaw.com
Jonathon E. Boatman

McAfee & Taft, PC - OKC
Two Leadership Square, 10th Floor
211 North Robinson
Oklahoma City, OK 73102-7103

405-270-6024
jeb.boatman@mcafeetaft.com
Michael K. Avery

McAfee & Taft, PC - OKC
Two Leadership Square, 10th Floor
211 North Robinson
Oklahoma City, OK 73102-7103

405-270-6012
michael.avery@mcafeetaft.com
Defendant's Counsel
Bryant T. Lamer

Spencer Fane Britt & Browne LLP - KC
1000 Walnut Street, Suite 1400
Kansas City, MO 64106-2140

816-474-8100
blamer@spencerfane.com
Carson M. Hinderks

Smithyman & Zakoura, Chtd.
7400 West 110th Street, Suite #750
Overland Park, KS 66210

913-661-9800 x 120
carson@smizak-law.com
Charles W. Macheers

Charles W. Macheers, LLC
21704 West 57th Terrace
Shawnee, KS 66218

913-432-9922 x 105
charles.macheers@macheerslaw.com
Clinton E. Patty

Frieden, Unrein, Forbes & Biggs, LLP
555 South Kansas Ave. - Ste. 303
PO Box 639
Topeka, KS 66601-0639

785-354-1100
cpatty@fufblaw.com
Eldon J. Shields

Gates, Shields & Ferguson, PA
10990 Quivira Rd., Suite 200
Overland Park, KS 66210

913-661-0222
ejshields@gsflegal.com
Elizabeth R. Herbert

Irigonegaray & Associates
1535 S.W. 29th St.
Topeka, KS 66611-1901

785-267-6115
erh@irigonegaray.com
Eric I. Unrein

Frieden, Unrein, Forbes & Biggs, LLP
555 South Kansas Ave. - Ste. 303
PO Box 639
Topeka, KS 66601-0639

785-354-1100
eunrein@fufblaw.com
F. James Robinson , Jr.

Hite, Fanning & Honeyman, L.L.P.
100 N. Broadway, Suite 950
Wichita, KS 67202-2209

316-265-7741
robinson@hitefanning.com
Gregory L. Musil

Polsinelli Shughart PC - College
6201 College Blvd., Suite #500
Overland Park, KS 66211-2423

913-451-8788 ext 7513
gmusil@polsinelli.com
J. Nick Badgerow

Spencer Fane Britt & Browne LLP - Overland Park
40 Corporate Woods, Suite 700
9401 Indian Creek Parkway
Overland Park, KS 66210-2005

913-345-8100
nbadgerow@spencerfane.com
James D. Oliver

Foulston Siefkin LLP - OP
32 Corporate Woods, Suite 600
9225 Indian Creek Parkway
Overland Park, KS 66210-2000

913-498-2100 ext 145
joliver@foulston.com
James P. Zakoura

Smithyman & Zakoura, Chtd.
7400 West 110th Street, Suite #750
Overland Park, KS 66210

913-661-9800
jim@smizak-law.com
Jay E. Heidrick

Polsinelli Shughart PC - College
6201 College Blvd., Suite #500
Overland Park, KS 66211-2423

913-451-8788
jheidrick@polsinelli.com
John C. Frieden

Frieden, Unrein, Forbes & Biggs, LLP
555 South Kansas Ave. - Ste. 303
PO Box 639
Topeka, KS 66601-0639

785-354-1100
jfrieden@fufblaw.com
John J. Rubin

John J. Rubin, Attorney at Law
13803 W. 53rd Street
Shawnee, KS 66216

913-558-4967
Rubinshaw@aol.com
Kevin M. Fowler

Frieden, Unrein, Forbes & Biggs, LLP
555 South Kansas Ave. - Ste. 303
PO Box 639
Topeka, KS 66601-0639

785-354-1100
kfowler@fuflaw.com
Lindsay Todd Perkins

Spencer Fane Britt & Browne LLP - Overland Park
40 Corporate Woods, Suite 700
9401 Indian Creek Parkway
Overland Park, KS 66210-2005

913-345-8100
ltoddperkins@spencerfane.com
Mark P. Johnson

SNR Denton US, LLP - KC
4520 Main Street, Suite 1100
Kansas City, MO 64111-7700

816-460-2400 ext 24502
mark.johnson@snrdenton.com
Michael F. Delaney

Spencer Fane Britt & Browne LLP - Overland Park
40 Corporate Woods, Suite 700
9401 Indian Creek Parkway
Overland Park, KS 66210-2005

913-345-8100
mdelaney@spencerfane.com
Michael R. O'Neal

Gilliland & Hayes, PA - Hutchinson
20 West 2nd Street, 2nd Floor
P.O. Box 2977
Hutchinson, KS 67501

620-662-0537
moneal@gh-ks.com
Pedro L. Irigonegaray

Irigonegaray & Associates
1535 S.W. 29th St.
Topeka, KS 66611-1901

785-267-6115
pli@plilaw.com
Ricardo A. Kolster

Bryan Cave LLP - KC
1200 Main Street, Suite 3500
Kansas City, MO 64105

816-374-3200 ext 3384
rkolster@armstrongteasdale.com
Steven Robert Smith

Gates, Shields & Ferguson, PA
10990 Quivira Rd., Suite 200
Overland Park, KS 66210

913-661-0222
stevesmith@gsflegal.com
Toby Jon Crouse

Foulston Siefkin LLP - OP
32 Corporate Woods, Suite 600
9225 Indian Creek Parkway
Overland Park, KS 66210-2000

913-498-2100
tcrouse@foulston.com
W. Greg Wright

Beam-Ward, Kruse, Wilson, Wright & Fletes, LLC
8695 College Boulevard, Suite 200
Overland Park, KS 66210-1871

913-339-6888
gwright@bkwwflaw.com
Wade P. K. Carr

SNR Denton US, LLP - KC
4520 Main Street, Suite 1100
Kansas City, MO 64111-7700

816-460-2473
wade.carr@snrdenton.com
Contact Information
Courtroom Deputy for Senior Judge Lungstrum
Sharon Scheurer
913-735-2325
(Chambers) 913-735-2320


Law Clerks for Senior Judge Vratil
Angela Gupta
913-735-2300

Brett Gordon
913-735-2300

Mary Matthews
913-735-2300

Monique Marie McElwee
913-735-2300


Case Documents